10:36

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.


Go Back   Railway Forum > Railway Modelling > Virtual Railways

Whole-country train simulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13th August 2011, 10:39
PaulTrack PaulTrack is offline  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bath
Posts: 1
Whole-country train simulation

Greetings train simulation enthusiasts! I'm new to this forum and have little knowledge of the train simulation scene, but I do have a question, and my search for an answer has brought me here. You may be among the best people to ask...

Has anyone simulated the entire rail network of a country before? I don't mean a full-on graphical simulation, just a basic but complete computer model of every station, track, and junction that comprises, for example, the UK's railway infrastructure.

It strikes me that a computer model of the rail infrastructure, combined with accurate passenger journey statistics, would be the best way to assess new ways to use the railways to the best of their potential. I expect rail companies are already doing this to some extent, but I wonder how detailed their models are.

I'm interested to hear you comments!


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th August 2011, 18:33
Tony Tony is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Guardamar del Segura, Spain.
Posts: 1,185
Images: 9
I have often wondered why no-one has produced a game/simulation of any of the privatised railway companies. I have played Railroad Tycoon for several years and something along those lines based in the UK would be of great interest.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2011, 21:59
Silver Fox Phil's Avatar
Silver Fox Phil Silver Fox Phil is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Derby
Posts: 2,001
Images: 195
Hi Paultrack and welcome to the forum. I hope you find the answers to your questions; I feel sure there are plenty with ideas and answers.
Enjoy and I look forward to your posts
Regards
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2011, 13:02
Mendipman319's Avatar
Mendipman319 Mendipman319 is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glastonbury, UK
Posts: 125
Images: 33
It really depends on what you mean. One where you drive the train would be near impossible unless it had shocking graphics. But a tycoon sort of game where you run a rail company would be possible, something like freight yard manager that was made in the USA.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th October 2011, 14:11
The Falcon's Avatar
The Falcon The Falcon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North East Hertfordshire.
Posts: 8
Recreating a railway line is much harder than you think!

As a Trainz and Railworks route designer I can testify that making routes is an incredibly long, difficult and tiresome process. Making a fictional route is a bit easier, but for real routes, you're talking days, weeks and months of work.

The serious developers have to go out and catalogue the entire route they want to build, bit by bit. That means every bridge, every signal, every house, every lake, every little thing has to be recorded and photographed in the route you want to build.

When you're finished with that, you have to put it into the simulation. I use the Railworks route building engine, which is by far the most comprehensive and powerful building tool out there. But even on that, it can take a professional, experienced designer hours and hours of work just to complete one town.

Sticking with your project takes a lot of commitment.

If I was to build the entire UK Network using Railworks/Trainz, I'm looking at a year long project. Longer in fact, because I have to go to school, I can't get an education sitting behind a PC all day. Unfortunately!!!


Falcon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th September 2012, 12:10
Paulp51D Paulp51D is offline  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Luton
Posts: 5
Is this something that you are planning to do then?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th September 2012, 18:35
Mendipman319's Avatar
Mendipman319 Mendipman319 is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glastonbury, UK
Posts: 125
Images: 33
It has been done by someone on simutrans (pak64). He made the entire UK rail network accurately.... Took a while! Simsig has made a lot of the countries signalling panels and actually in ts2012 a lot of the country has been made, its just in seperate chunks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.