13:52

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Railway Modelling > Railway Modelling

DCC wiring questions

Old 12th December 2005, 17:24

DCC wiring questions

Hello I'm new to this whole DCC concept and haven't touched model railways for over 15 years, but now I am preparing to do my first large layout and I want to use DCC as it looks damn useful as I'm modelling a depot/yard scene and HATE isolating tracks

So here's my question: When it comes to pointwork are there/is there anything special I should do in terms of wiring? and as I plan to have two circuits of track how do I supply power to these - do I need another booster(?) module.

I am quite taken with the new Guagemaster unit and may for that - suggestions (keep it clean ) would be grateful.

Cheers,
Dave

Old 14th December 2005, 22:10

Dave
I recently attended Warley where I posed some questions re DCC. I learned that no special wiring was required to pointwork and all that was required for trackwork was two wires. One particular firm informed me that dropper wires were required every 3 feet along the length of the layout connected to a track bus. Another firm said this was unnecessary and two wires placed approx centre of layout will supply power. A special module was required for a return loop. With DCC you drive the trains and not the track.
Hope this helps
Jim
Old 15th December 2005, 09:10