00:45

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Members Area > Say Hello

Aerial Photography?

Old 24th April 2014, 10:47

Aerial Photography?

Hi All

Just joined as I wanted to ask a couple of questions. There is a Great Britain Tour coming north on Monday 28th and I was thinking of taking some photos of the excursion from the air.

What is the forums view on this? You can take it as read that I am an experienced pilot and will obey the 500 foot minimum but would having an aircraft following the train for half an hour annoy customers and spotters?

I know enough to know that some like to record the noise of the train and not sure the background buzz of a Lycoming Flat 6 would add much to their soundtracks.

Equally some stills and video taken from a Dornier 27 posted on Utube and flicker a handy bonus.

Regards Dornier

Old 25th April 2014, 09:22

Hello Dornier and welcome to the forum.
Your plan is reminisent of the old days when black and white footage was shown of an light aircraft following an express from London to Edinburgh.Something enjoyed by many.
I for one would be more than happy to view this type of photography and look forward to your posts.
As for noise from the flat 6.........an added bonus.
Only wish I could join you.
Stuart
Old 26th April 2014, 07:25

Location: Lancashire (but the GPO will insist on telling me I live in Merseyside)
Well, I hope to be out and about with the camera for this one and I certainly wouldn't be annoyed by your presence, and I shouldn't think anybody else would be either to be honest.