13:04

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > General Railway Discussion > Light Rail and Metros

Track Circuits (rural, mainline, metro)

Old 25th February 2008, 19:15

Track Circuits (rural, mainline, metro)

Hi all,
I'm new here! I am a University student studying electronic and electrical engineering. I am currently doing a project titled: Monitoring systems for Rail Networks. The task is to find a new innovative way of track signaling and locating trains.

I am having trouble finding out some specific information regarding current methods revolving around track circuits.

I would like to find out the number of track circuits employed around the UK and IF possible where these are located (i.e. rural, mainline, metro)

If anyone has any of these stats I would greatly appreciate this.

Thanks a lot!

Old 25th February 2008, 20:50

Welcome Railproject.

What sources have you already tried?
Old 25th February 2008, 22:36

I've tried quite a lot of websites, many of them not too good.

I did however find the following site to be good, having a lot of useful statistics I can use:
http://www.railway-technical.com/index.shtml

Most of my research has been through the internet. I have emailed Network Rail asking for any statistics they can share about trach circuits/signaling methods.

Can you suggest any useful sites?

Thanks!
Old 26th February 2008, 19:35

Give up on the internet except to look for companies who might take pity on a poor student and help out.
Which are the signalling equipment supply and installing companies? e.g. Westinghouse, Plessy, GEC (must be more modern ones)