01:34

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Diesel & Electric > Diesel & Electric Discussion

Class 66 refuelling query

Old 21st August 2011, 10:03

Class 66 refuelling query

My home backs on to the Blackburn Hellifield line and when our grandsons come to visit they look in awe at the Class 66 locos which pull the heavy Castle Cement and coal trains. This weekend, Harry, my eldest grandson, asked when he saw one of these locos run off light engine for servicing where it had gone? And I could not give the answer as I'm a novice concerning modern diesel workings.
So, can any of you more experienced diesel types out there please answer a few questions regarding the 66s and diesel locos in general regarding refuelling:
1. Where do the Castle Cement coal train locos go for refuelling?
2. What's the capacity of a 66 class fuel tank?
3. What's the range and the mpg of a class 66?
4. What kind of fuel does a class 66 use, is it similar to what we get in petrol stations?
5. Has a diesel loco ever run out of fuel on the mainline and, if so, how would it be refuelled? Would it be pulled to the nearest depot or refuelled with a tanker?
Thanks for your help in answering the questions of a 6 year old and a not so young 58 year old.
David.

Last edited by Preston Pilot 47472; 21st August 2011 at 10:22.
Old 21st August 2011, 10:22

OK simple the info you need is here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Rail_Class_66