13:46

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Members Area > Say Hello

Hello - and can anyone get me close to a Class 66!

Old 17th June 2011, 22:48

Hello - and can anyone get me close to a Class 66!

Hi there. I haven't found my way round the forum yet, but it looks great.

I've been a model engineer for some 30 years and the latest project I am just starting (which should see me out!) is to build a Class 66 in 1/8th scale (7.25" gauge track).

I have plans, but these are flat and one dimentional. I would really like to get up close and personal to a static Class 66 to photograph the detail (especially the running gear). They sometimes pass through my local stations - Woking and Guildford - as I am waiting for a train but then I don't have my camera and my mobile cannot get the detail.

My attempts to get EMD and the like to give me access have failed so far.

Does anyone know of a public vantage point in the south of England from which I could get decent close up shots of a static loco - ideally both sides!

Many thanks for any help.

Tony

Old 18th June 2011, 00:06

If you can wait till autum the leaf fall trains park in liv st
last yr there were 2 top and tail in platform 9 I had a good look round inside the cab through open window photos and measurments would have been no problem
may have needed to explain to platform staff
the time was about 11 am
Old 18th June 2011, 11:43
Station Manager

Hi Tony.

Took this photo at Didcot the other day. Could have got a lot closer but I was trying to get all of them in! Don't know if this is a regular parking spot for Sheds!