23:43

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Members Area > Say Hello

Hello from Canada

Old 24th October 2013, 01:49

Hello from Canada

Hello to all,

I am a retired radio journalist whose job has taken him to a fair number of far flung places. One journey included a long train ride from (then) Lourenço Marques to (then) Salisbury via Bulawayo. I couldn't swear to it but I rather think the locomotive was a Beyer-Garratt.

I grew up in a naval family and soon developed a passion for ships. Battleships particularly impressed me because of their wonderful combination of raw power and imposing elegance. It was these qualities that led me to appreciate the steam locomotives of my youth; be they The Lord Nelsons and King Arthurs or the A1/A3s or the Stanier pacifics.

I am no engineer. Facts and figures tend to adhere to me like sticky notes on a monitor screen. But I do enjoy listening to others far better versed than myself explain the virtues of their favourite locomotives.

With best regards,

Tim H

Old 24th October 2013, 03:24
Station Manager

Hello Tim and welcome to the forum, enjoy and all the best.
Old 24th October 2013, 07:15
Registered Member

Hello Tim welcome to the Railway Forum.
Old 24th October 2013, 16:53
Station Manager