17:01

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > General Railway Discussion > Narrow Gauge

horsepower

Old 22nd March 2008, 07:53

horsepower

hi guys this is my first post on here i need to know how much horsepower is required to pull along carriages with people on them i am going to use a electric motor

Old 22nd March 2008, 08:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolspot View Post
hi guys this is my first post on here i need to know how much horsepower is required to pull along carriages with people on them i am going to use a electric motor
I'm not a physics expert nor do I pretend to be one, however the horsepower needed to pull a carraige is directly proportional to the weight of the carraige and anything on or in it, in addition to the weight of the motor itself and any vehicle on which it is mounted, unless the motor is to remain stationary, taking into account any gradients.

For example, a motor designed to pull a 20ton carraige with 3tons of additional weight (passengers/freight), may not be sufficient to pull a 25ton carraige.

Equally, a motor designed to pull a 25ton carraige on a flat gradient may not be able to pull a 20ton carraige uphill.

So to put it in lamens terms....... How long is a piece of string?

Well done for making it past that today!
Old 22nd March 2008, 10:56

Eeeeek this is one of those subjects which sound dead easy until you start doing the maths. I would imagine that what you're really after is Drawbar Pull....since you're trying to pull vehicles along.