13:06

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.


Go Back   Railway Forum > Railway Modelling > Railway Modelling

gap between engine and tender

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30th March 2014, 20:48
trophy trophy is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: halifax
Posts: 105
gap between engine and tender

sure someone has thought of this before .but apiece of heavy rubble sack stuck to the loco footplate and trimmed to overlap the tender fills the gap and is flexible enough to go round curves points .


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th March 2014, 22:12
boilersuit's Avatar
boilersuit boilersuit is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moved again! Back in Kent!!
Posts: 1,213
Images: 99
Not sure what your point is, trophy. Would you care to elaborate?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2014, 12:08
trophy trophy is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: halifax
Posts: 105
Unhappy

not sure how ican make it any clearer.just sharing a method of filling the unsightly gap between engine and tender.i am sorry If you already knew this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2014, 16:44
Tony Tony is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Guardamar del Segura, Spain.
Posts: 1,185
Images: 9
I think that after 150 years of steam operation, someone might have thought of this? If you find photos of Midland region engines, you will find this used on many locos, especially the 0-8-0's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st March 2014, 17:19
trophy trophy is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: halifax
Posts: 105
this is the MODEL railway forum the gap I mean is the footplate floor to tender.on a MODEL loco.

Last edited by trophy; 31st March 2014 at 17:24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st March 2014, 22:28
boilersuit's Avatar
boilersuit boilersuit is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moved again! Back in Kent!!
Posts: 1,213
Images: 99
Aha! Suddenly it all becomes clear.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st April 2014, 16:42
Tony Tony is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Guardamar del Segura, Spain.
Posts: 1,185
Images: 9
Probably a piece of card or Plasticard glued at one end would do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st April 2014, 17:01
trophy trophy is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: halifax
Posts: 105
yes it would but a piece of plastic sack is flexible and allows loco to go round sharp curves.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.