05:39

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Members Area > Say Hello

Hi to all, I have a big favour to ask!

Old 30th September 2010, 13:06

Hi to all, I have a big favour to ask!

Hi everyone, my name's Izzy and I'm a third year illustration student at Westminster university.
I'm basing my project on trainspotting for my new project and at the moment I'm collecting information and images to use in my project.
My main aim at the moment is just to learn about the hobby and give it all a bit more of a personal/intimate feel by looking out for anecdotes or opinions from the people behind the trainspotting.
I've come up with some questions I'd love for people to answer for me if you have the time. You can answer all of them or you can just answer the ones you want to - it could even just be one of them. Anything you can tell me would be amazingly useful and would help me so much.

My e-mail is [email protected] if you would rather send me your answers or feel free to post your answers here. Thanks again!

When did you start trainspotting?

How often to you go?

What are the essential items you always take with you?

How does the 'trainspotter' stereotype make you feel?

Do you get much interest from members of the public? (pos/neg)

What has been your best/worst experience?

What's the best/worst thing about the hobby?

How does it affect your day to day life? (if it does at all)

Your favourite train model? (if there is such a thing.. sorry I'm still learning!)

Has trainspotting inspired you to do anything else?/Do you have any related hobbies that have sprung from trainspotting?