Railway Forum

Railway Forum (https://www.railwayforum.net/index.php)
-   Passenger Operations and Observations (https://www.railwayforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Mark three's. (https://www.railwayforum.net/showthread.php?t=11880)

keith morgan 25th January 2013 15:43

Mark three's.

A few days ago a friend of mine (no interest in railways) travelled from Bicester to B-ham Moore St. by Chiltern, she said the coaches were really comfortable with plenty of leg room smooth and quiet, not like the units that are normally used.
I think that these coaches were ex-Wrexham stock, does any one know (a) how many sets do Chiltern have? (b) how many mark 3 coaches are still out there? and (c) what m.p.h. are the coaches rated at.

Locoman4244 25th January 2013 18:41

Hi Keith

I have no exact knowledge of how many Mark 3 coaches Chiltern have, but I think they have 4-5 rakes of carriages. When these were bought from Wrexham and Shropshire they were all slam doors, but Chiltern have already converted some coaches to the new type doors. I think they are still converting some at WABTEC.

If you want a treat, take the 10.55 am train from Birmingham Moor Street to London Marylebone. Loco hauled with Mark 3 coaches.

I think Chiltern have 4 or 5 Class 67 leased locos.

Locoman 4244

Madcaravanner 25th January 2013 18:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by keith morgan (Post 74226)
A few days ago a friend of mine (no interest in railways) travelled from Bicester to B-ham Moore St. by Chiltern, she said the coaches were really comfortable with plenty of leg room smooth and quiet, not like the units that are normally used.
I think that these coaches were ex-Wrexham stock, does any one know (a) how many sets do Chiltern have? (b) how many mark 3 coaches are still out there? and (c) what m.p.h. are the coaches rated at.

Not sure on final number until Wabtec has released everything