Railway Forum

Railway Forum (https://www.railwayforum.net/index.php)
-   Railway Stations (https://www.railwayforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Strange questions from police... (https://www.railwayforum.net/showthread.php?t=7504)

Deathbyteacup 28th April 2010 19:14

Strange questions from police...

So, some plane clothed guy came up to me at a station today and said "Excuse me Sir, I'm a police officer, can I just ask you a few questions?" and showed me his warrent card.

"Okay...."

"What do all these mean, 13a, 13b, 13c, what is that?"

"Uh, well, there different sections of the platform, a train might stop in 13b instead of a...."

"Oh okay, so where would a long train stop then instead of say a shorter one"

"Well, depends on the type of train I guess, there are little signs that say where a type of train is supposed to stop and the car / length...."

"Oh okay, thank you Sir"

So I went on my merry way, properly confused by it. It later occured to me I was wearing a high-vis vest at the time relating to my job which might have seemed suspect but even so, quite bizzare.

Anyone ever had that or know WHY that would occur?

LesG 28th April 2010 21:02

Do you know,was he BTP or Local plod?.

Maybe he was confused and really wanted to know what all the numbers on the station meant.

Les

Deathbyteacup 28th April 2010 22:39

He was Greater Manchester Police, don't think he was BTP.

He was speaking in a manner which seemed particularly false, almost like a trained psycologist, if you know what I mean.

Anon Mouse 29th April 2010 03:41

he sounds a bit like a nut if you ask me

48111 30th April 2010 14:16

Strangely enough, a lot of local police forces know very little about the railway or its workings.