Railway Forum

Railway Forum (https://www.railwayforum.net/index.php)
-   Light Rail and Metros (https://www.railwayforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Track Circuits (rural, mainline, metro) (https://www.railwayforum.net/showthread.php?t=2226)

RailProject 25th February 2008 19:15

Track Circuits (rural, mainline, metro)

Hi all,
I'm new here! I am a University student studying electronic and electrical engineering. I am currently doing a project titled: Monitoring systems for Rail Networks. The task is to find a new innovative way of track signaling and locating trains.

I am having trouble finding out some specific information regarding current methods revolving around track circuits.

I would like to find out the number of track circuits employed around the UK and IF possible where these are located (i.e. rural, mainline, metro)

If anyone has any of these stats I would greatly appreciate this.

Thanks a lot!

Shed Cat 25th February 2008 20:50

Welcome Railproject.

What sources have you already tried?

RailProject 25th February 2008 22:36

I've tried quite a lot of websites, many of them not too good.

I did however find the following site to be good, having a lot of useful statistics I can use:
http://www.railway-technical.com/index.shtml

Most of my research has been through the internet. I have emailed Network Rail asking for any statistics they can share about trach circuits/signaling methods.

Can you suggest any useful sites?

Thanks!

Shed Cat 26th February 2008 19:35

Give up on the internet except to look for companies who might take pity on a poor student and help out.
Which are the signalling equipment supply and installing companies? e.g. Westinghouse, Plessy, GEC (must be more modern ones)

Which are the key Journals in S&T ?

This lot might help............http://www.irse.org/

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers has always been very helpful to me...even though I'm not a Member.