11:56

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > Railway Modelling > Railway Modelling

OO track geometry.

Old 11th September 2006, 21:10

OO track geometry.

As some might know I am not an expert modeler, although I have just got out again a double-oval track I made a few years back. I have been amazed over the last three weekends that my kids (11 & 6) have switched off the telly and watched some authentically very dubious trains going round-and round- and round for hours. (e.g. GWR pannier tanks pulling LMS express passenger coaches with half a dozen Southern Railway vans on the back...........could it be turning into the S&D perhaps?

Anyway, I am looking at some minor track modifications and want some geometry. I know I could just wait for the bits when they arrive in the post, but I want to do some technical drawings, to get tangents and transition spirals. ( I'll leave out the superelevation calcs for now !) I've tried Hornby website - but no good. I dont want to buy a manual or a computer programme just for this.

Right then. Here's the maths homework...........There is a Hornby standard curved point which both legs appear to be 2nd radius. i.e arcs of two circles of radius 438mm. The centre of each of these circles will be at a different position. How far apart are the centres? 67mm perhaps?????

Last edited by Shed Cat; 11th September 2006 at 21:26.
Old 12th September 2006, 18:19

These things can be a bind! You can introduce a small degree of flexibility by removing some of the webbing from between the sleepers....just remember to make all joins on curves a smooth transition.....