11:36

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > General Railway Discussion > Railway Stations

Help please - Lake District to London Route 1909

Old 26th March 2015, 14:08

Red face Help please - Lake District to London Route 1909

Hello everyone!

I'm still a train amateur and a research assistant to a historical fiction author. I've been trying to find out details about what route someone would have taken from the Lake District to London in 1909, specifically which stations they would have gone to and what changes they would have made.

From my research so far, I am guessing that someone travelling from Esthwaite Water would have taken the Windermere Branch Line from Windermere Station, then changed at Oxenholme, to perhaps then take West Coast Main Line south to London Euston.

I know that at the time, Lake Windermere was a very popular destination for visitors from London, so I was wondering if there was perhaps a more direct route?

I've already been in touch with the National Rail museum, but they only said I should come to York to look at their archived timetables, which I'm unable to do.

Any help is very much appreciated!

Thank you!
Ella
Researcher and Train Novice

Old 4th April 2015, 16:30

Quote:
Originally Posted by ellam View Post
Hello everyone!

I'm still a train amateur and a research assistant to a historical fiction author. I've been trying to find out details about what route someone would have taken from the Lake District to London in 1909, specifically which stations they would have gone to and what changes they would have made.