05:05

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > General Railway Discussion > Light Rail and Metros

Need help with the lingo

Old 10th March 2009, 10:21

Need help with the lingo

Hi,

I am the newest newbie.

I am a translator, translating a safety manual into English, and find the English terminology is a little daunting. I can find quite a bit in published glossaries, but not all.

Is anyone here interested in trying to help me out if I describe the item or situation as best I can and suggest something?

Example:
In a Bombadier light rail cab (Stockholm metro), various models, there is some sort of key that has to be inserted for the train to run. Is this simply an <<ingnition key>> as in an automobile, or is there a special term here?

I found a German-English Bombadier glossary that referred to "activation key" (in English, yet my Swedish soruce lists 3 or four other synoymns.

Thus, how many other terms are in use and what are they?

thanks in advance
-scott ellis

Old 10th March 2009, 11:12

Master Key? also known as an EP Key
Old 10th March 2009, 11:22

Thanks chuffchuff (like the name!).

QUESTION 2:
Is there a standard call that a driver of a light rail trains makes to announce the doors are about to close? Swedish "Se upp för dörrstängning" litteraly. "Look out for closing doors" Short and sweet, eh?
Old 10th March 2009, 13:09

Hello and welcome to the forum Scott. With regards to your question, I'm not sure. I know on the Metrolink system in Manchester the driver doesn't say anything about the doors, as there is an automated bleeping sound which goes off when they are closing.