09:04

Welcome to Railway Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to Railway Forum, a dedicated community for railway and train enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   Railway Forum > General Railway Discussion > Passenger Operations and Observations

Designing a sleep aid for rail commuters, please help me

Old 18th October 2007, 23:30

Lightbulb Designing a sleep aid for rail commuters, please help me

Hello everyone,

I am a product design student in university. I am designing a product for my final year project, to help commuters to sleep on train.

The product is multi-functional. Currently, I am not sure how exactly the product will look like, but it will be very small and portable, and powered by normal batteries. So rail commuters can carry it in their bags

It will include:
A timer to wake you up at your station,
An anti-theft function to watch your bag,
And some other functions.

All alarm and reminder will be vibration of the product.

So here I need your experience and views on the “some other functions”. Below, I listed several questions, please answer them by Yes, No or Doesn’t matter. It will be a great help for me, thank you very much!

1. Are you a rail commuter? No matter you are or not, your views will be equally important for me.

2.Do you worry about putting your head on the next passenger’s shoulder, when you fall in sleep on a train?

If yes, would you like a remainder to wake you up, when you are moving towards other passengers by vibration?

3. Do you want a cushion to support your head, if there is no such feature on the train seats?

4. Do you worry about snoring on train, if you snore in sleep? (Sorry about the mean assumption)