Railway Forum

Railway Forum (https://www.railwayforum.net/index.php)
-   Railway News from around the World (https://www.railwayforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Challenges facing the rail industry in Europe (https://www.railwayforum.net/showthread.php?t=10825)

arkadas 2nd April 2012 00:11

Challenges facing the rail industry in Europe

Hi there everyone!

I'm a student and I'm supposed to produce a report on:
"What challenges, opportunities and risks do you see for the rail industry in Europe in the coming years?

I'm completely new to this transportation means. I have already done some research but I'm really curious what you guys think about it? Could I ask you for some guidance?

Best regards

Silver Fox Phil 2nd April 2012 16:14

Welcome to the forum Arkadas and hope you find what you are looking for. There are many who have a valid opinion for sure.
All the best
Phil

John H-T 2nd April 2012 20:25

Welcome to the Forum Arkadas. Ask the questions and we will try to answer them.

Best wishes,

John H-T.

DSY011 2nd April 2012 21:07

Hello Arkadas and welcome to the Railway Forum.

ianrail 2nd April 2012 21:10

Welcome to the Forum, Arkadas, and I'm sure you'll quickly learn a lot just reading the posts here. This Forum is primarily a UK one but the railways of Europe are perhaps not so unlike our own, except for the fragmentation that privatisation has imposed on our railway system.

Just to get you going with at least some "bullet points" under each heading, I started to think of the following:

Challenges:
seemingly ever-increasing regulations and cost of running the railway;
a complex and labour intensive industry;
competition from low-cost airlines;
inability to squeeze much more time-saving out of already long sections of high-speed line;
difficulty and cost of building new lines in heavily built-up parts of western Europe.

Risks:
fare increases to fund investment drive passengers off the railway;